10 Happy Things in September

My partner and I are thinking seriously about taking up hill walking so now I have new boots. I guess it’s actually going to happen!

I’m going to Prague in October. My partner and I always try to do a beachy/relaxing break earlier in the year and then save up for a city exploration holiday later. This year, it’s Prague and I am super excited. Not to mention I get to do my usual and turn into a control freak with plans and iternaries. Honestly, I’m loads of fun to go on holiday with.

Plus, the day before we go, my friends are all meeting up for a night in! We don’t always get to see each other because we live in different places and have busy lives so it’s great to see everyone.

Very recently I have gotten quite into poetry and since watching Sarah Kay’s Ted Talk (you must watch here!), I am searching for all kinds of good spoken word poetry. I’ve also recently devoured Raching Hummingbirds by Jeanann Verlee which was just fantastic and every reason why poetry is amazing. Warning: definitely not for the light hearted.

I’ve started a new exercise class called Sh’bam. It’s essentially an dance-styled interval training class. And it’s the only class I’ve ever been to where the instructor tells you to imagine you’re wearing nipple tassles. Nuff said.

On top of Sh’bam, I have also been going back to Zumba. However, I only go with a friend (because otherwise, I convince myself not to bother because I’m so lazy!). While Zumba is good, it’s the hour long chats afterwards that I’m really talking about. We literally have to force ourselves to stop talking or else we would be there all night!

I saw Panic! At the Disco  performance back in May and they were fantastic. I have all four of their albums and they fill up my most listened to slots. Right now, I can’t stop listening to Turn Off the Lights even though it’s the only song I don’t own because it isn’t out in the UK. Grr!

I started my masters and I’m really happy about it. While it’s weird going back to student land (although temporarily since I get day release from work) and having to spend your free time studying is not the most fun thing in the world, my course is hugely related to my work so what I’m learning is relevant and interesting. Yay for learning!

Cards against humanity. Look it up. Buy it. Spend your nights disgusting your friends.

I’ve read 36 books so far this year. This is the first year I’ve counted so I have nothing to compare it to but I’m impressed with myself! I can easily get to 40 by the end of the year. Some have been great and some pretty poor. I’m currently a bit stuck on one book but I’m thinking about dumping it for something more inspiring and intellectual…like Bridget Jone’s Diary!

What’s been happening in your September? Big or small, let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

