Believe Me Natalie

I believe in the good of people. Ultimately, most people don’t want to hurt each other. Yes, we can be selfish, greedy and at times heartless, but I don’t think people go out of their way to hurt other people’s feelings or make their lives harder. I believe that people want to do good and they want to help. They want to love, laugh and smile.

I believe in trying. If you want to do something or be something, you need to try. If you don’t even try, you will always fail.

I believe in learning. No one will ever know everything. No one will ever know enough. I always want to be smarter and I choose to do that by reading more. My partner watches TV documentaries on how they manufacture items from microwaves to ships. Learning is a really great thing. When you meet someone who wants to learn, it’s exciting as you both try.

 

I do not believe in organised religion. That’s not to say I don’t believe in God or that I am not spiritual. I can see the strengths from the community it creates but I have never felt the draw to it. This is probably largely because I haven’t grown up in a religious household and the most exposure I got to religion as a child was an end of school-year service where we sang songs which, now thinking back, must have been hymns. I just don’t believe in it.

I don’t believe in soul-mates. There is no way that there is only one person in the entire world who is compatible for you. As far as I’m concerned, it’s all to do to with chemistry and timing. And how likely is it that out of everyone on the planet, you’re soul-mate happens to live within travelling distance as they seem to for the majority of people.

I don’t believe in speaking negatively about things. People, jobs, places. Nothing.

Maybe I’m exaggerating a little. It’s ok to be negative if you truly don’t like something. But some people are always quick to be negative. It must be misery inside their heads. If you always talk negatively, you must think like that. When I speak to people who are like this, they miss the positives of their lives because they are so focused on the bad.

In response to today’s Daily Prompt.

10 comments

  1. Very powerful and insightful little post! Just an Fyi,…..”Religion” isn’t where you get strength. We get it from and through God and his son Jesus Christ. I’m not a religious nut. When you learn to be guided by God’s words, his Faith and Love for you your heart will never long for something the world or society can’t give us, or fill our empty heart. Only God can do that. We come to believe in a power greater then ourselves, because no one person is perfect.

    But having Faith, Love, and his Grace in your life, all things are possible. God does still perform “Miracles” everyday, all around us. How do I know this?
    I’m one of his Life Miracles. God and Recovery both have given me my Life back.
    I won’t DO Life again without him!…..I wasn’t good at it!….LOL.

    Hugs!
    Author, Cat Lyon 🙂

Leave a Reply

