My love-affair with Buy with 1-Click

Some people are readers.

I am a buyer.

The problem started years ago, presumably around the time I started my first weekend jobs and I had cash to spend on myself! I’d slip into my local Waterstones (or Ottackers as it was before the takeover! Anyone else remember that?) for ‘just a second’. An hour later, I’m engrossed in their fiction section, looking for the last book to complete my 3 for 2 offer.

 

What a great deal, I always thought. Of course, I only ever read two of the books. Eventually, I realised sometimes I was only reading one. Or none in one case. I was sucked in by the clever marketing and the thought of a free book.

Then came the kindle.

It’s so easy when no one can see you buying the books. No judgy eyes or people asking if I finished the last ones I bought. Just ‘click’ and it’s done.

On Boxing Day, I was searching through the Amazon sales in the depth of the night. After countless books browsed, I bought 4. Whilst still in the middle of one. And having bought three the other day.

Let me put this into perspective for you. Roughly, I think I read 17 books in 2013. I was pretty impressed with this since I’m not a fast reader or someone who actually gets to the end of books a lot (or past the beginning).

However, then I counted how many books I’ve bought from my Amazon account for my kindle.

48.

I’ll give you a moment to digest that.

I bought 44 books last year. Only in kindle. I still buy physical books (I’m frightened to count them). So although I bought 48 plus books last year, I only read 17. Worse yet, through my searching I see I bought ‘Super Sad True Love Story’ on the 3rd of January 2013. A book I was desperate to get my hands on. I’m 2% of the way through.

I have a problem.

So my goal for 2014 is to have finished AT LEAST the following books by this time next year:

  • Fatherland – Robert Harris (making my way through it now so if I’m lucky, I’ll have it done before the end of this year!)
  • Super Sad True Love Story – Gary Shteyngart
  • Perfect Blood & onwards in the Hollows series – Kim Harrison
  • Disney War: The Battle for the Magic Kingdom – James B. Stewart
  • Cat’s Cradle – Kurt Vonnegut
  • Predictably Irrational – Dan Ariely
  • Charley Davidson series – Darynda Jones
  • The Cormorant – Chuck Wendig (not to mention the Blue Blazes, Double Dead and Irregular Creatures which are all sitting on my kindle waiting to be read!)
  • The Examined Life – Stephen Grosz 
  • Night Broken – Patricia Briggs
  • Predictably Irrational – Dan Ariely

Some you couldn’t tear me away from. Some I’m going to need to get into. But I swear, I’ll finish them all!

Do you have any books you could recommend for 2014? What do I need on my to-read list?

One thought on “My love-affair with Buy with 1-Click

  1. Pingback: Wise Woman in Training

Leave a Reply

