Preaching to the Internet Strangers

I made a decision a while ago. I’m not going to tell you what it was. It’s not that big a deal but it was in response to what I think is going to be a significant if not defining moment in my life.

And it’s not the one I thought I would make.

Nor is it the one that most people would agree with.

After toiling with the decision and still quite uneasy whether I made the right call, I took to the internet. I needed to see what other’s opinions of similar situations were.

What people weren’t saying was “When that happened to me, I…” They were telling others “If that ever happened to me, I would…”

Does this only seem wrong to me?

These people were preaching to others about what they should do though they have never been in that situation before. I started getting angry at these people, who weren’t even talking to me, about what they said.

You don’t know how you will react in a situation until it happens. You can’t. For one thing, everyone’s circumstances are going to be different and there isn’t going to be blanket answer for that. These people were declaring truisms to total strangers on the internet. Talk about judgy.

On top of that, you have no idea how you’re going to feel when it’s happening to you. All you can do is make the decision that’s right for you. Even if it’s the unpopular one. Even if it’s harder. Even if it’s not what everyone else says you should do.

It doesn’t matter what they say. Only what you think and feel. That’s all you can base any decision on.

You might surprise yourself.

And you’ll know a lot more about yourself after it.

One thought on “Preaching to the Internet Strangers

  1. I believe I once told my sister, she’d be complete “toast” if she had gone through the year I had gone through. She was being critical. Brene Brown puts it best when she talks about only caring about your advice and opinion if you’re in the ring and fighting. If you’re just a bystander, forget it! You’re not qualified to comment.

Leave a Reply

